Need help, have three sources w/ component but only two input available

Discussion in 'Displays' started by steveFarmer, Aug 25, 2004.

  1. steveFarmer

    steveFarmer Auditioning

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Brand spanking new, this is my first post after reading post for about 6 months. Would appreciate a bit of help from the group...

    I have a Sanyo PLV-Z2 that will accept two HDTV inputs; one is component the other is DVI-I. My Denon receiver has two i/p for component, with one o/p. I have:

    Xbox - component
    dvd - component
    HDTV cable box (Motorola 6208) - component or DVI (disabled)

    I tried to connect the xbox and dvd to the Denon, then the Denon via component to i/p #1 of the Sanyo projector. Works fine no problems.

    The problem is that I tried to connect HDTV cable box via DVI to i/p #2 of the Sanyo Projector. No go, the DVI is disabled.

    So finally my question: Anyway to enable the DVI on the Motorola HDTV cable box?

    Another alternative is to connect the Motorola to i/p #2 of the Sanyo projector via DVI to component. The way I look at it, I need a female DVI to male component. Anyone know where to get one?

    Appreciate the assistance.
     
  2. Mort Corey

    Mort Corey Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    981
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm sure this isn't the answer you're looking for, but you could buy a new Denon 3805 and have three inputs and one output and you'd be all set. [​IMG]

    AFAIK, the DVI can only be enabled by the cable company.

    Mort
     
  3. steveFarmer

    steveFarmer Auditioning

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Definitely not the answer I'm looking for; you must own denon stock.
     
  4. SimiA

    SimiA Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That animal doesn't exist.
    One of the connections is pure digital, (DVI) the other is analog. (component)
    You might want to check out switchers here.
    http://www2.dvigear.com/dvi1x2splitter.html
    Motorola has had problems with their DVI.
    I'd contact your cable company and see if they have any answers for ya.
    Vb
     
  5. Tyson Wetzel

    Tyson Wetzel Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Denon is a privately held company, D&M Holdings I think.
     

Share This Page