Need Help from Yamaha owners - especially RX-V2090

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by CarlV, Jan 24, 2002.

  1. CarlV

    CarlV Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 11, 2000
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    I recently bought a used Yamaha RX-V2090 receiver for the bedroom.

    I am having trouble getting any sound from it... the sound that comes out is very faint. I can hear sound if I put my ears next to the speakers.

    When the seller demoed it it worked perfect but he had it connected through his TV. He would control the volume thru his TV. I would guess this has something to do with the problem I'm having.

    I've tried the manual but no luck. THere's no reset button that I can find.

    Carl
     
  2. joe logston

    joe logston Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    try a & b speaker button i thank you have it on b speakers
     
  3. CarlV

    CarlV Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 11, 2000
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's not a/b speakers, I've checked it and it's conntected on a. I did push b and nothing happened.

    I only have a pair of mains connected to the receiver.

    Carl
     
  4. ken thompson

    ken thompson Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2000
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was going to say check the mute but i believe "mute" flashes on the screen when engaged. I will continue to think about your problem. Seems like ive had this problem in the past. ill try to remember.
     
  5. jeff peterson

    jeff peterson Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 1998
    Messages:
    675
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the RX-V2092, check to make sure the jumpers in the back which connect the pre-amp to the main are in (or even there). They are just a pair of thick, bent wire.
     
  6. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 1999
    Messages:
    6,100
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Katy, TX
    Real Name:
    Wayne
    Carl,

    Make sure the tape monitor is not engaged. If the tape monitor LED is on, push the button and then you should get some sound.

    Regards,

    Wayne A. Pflughaupt
     
  7. CarlV

    CarlV Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 11, 2000
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    jeff,

    the jumpers were connected, it worked fine at the sellers house.

    Wayne,

    Good idea I will check the tape monitor tonight and report back.

    thanks
     
  8. CarlV

    CarlV Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 11, 2000
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried the tape monitor, it didn't do a thing. I'm stumped.

    Any other ideas.

    Carl
     
  9. joe logston

    joe logston Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    try the fm radio in the receiver doudble check all your plig ins and speaker wires you got a pair of ear phones try that to thank you, joe
     
  10. joe logston

    joe logston Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    what do you have to hook up to the receiver dvd, cd, tape,tv,
     
  11. CarlV

    CarlV Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 11, 2000
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Fm tuner works but it's very faint just like the dvd player. I'm just playing a cd thru the dvd player.

    Carl
     
  12. CarlV

    CarlV Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 11, 2000
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just checked the manual.

    I think I know what the problem is now.

    It is the pre amp jumpers as mentioned by jeff

    Maybe they came lose when I packed it.

    Anyway I will try to locate some jumpers and let you guys know.

    Thanks guys
     
  13. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 1999
    Messages:
    6,100
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Katy, TX
    Real Name:
    Wayne
    Call 1-800-4-YAMAHA and order some new ones.

    In the meantime, a set of RCA cables patched across the jacks will get you up and running.

    Regards,

    Wayne A. Pflughaupt
     
  14. CarlV

    CarlV Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 11, 2000
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wayne,

    Patch cables worked like a champ.

    This receiver sounds excellent.

    Thanks everybody

    Crrl
     

Share This Page