Need help finishing my system

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Pablo Abularach, May 28, 2002.

1. Pablo Abularach

Pablo Abularach Supporting Actor

Hi,

I'm just a newbie trying to build my system, thanks for taking the time on ready my thread.

I'm planning on hooking a JBL PB12 with NPS1II and a ONKYO SR600. I have a Wega 34' (with S video, composite and component hook ups).

So here are the questions

1) Does cables matter, a fiend told me that the cables the are sold in Radioshack could get almost the same performance than a MONSTER Cable.

2) What are your thought of Acoustic Research in cables, are they any good, or should I go for Monster.

3) I havent decide how I'm going to hook the video lines, I don't know if should go S vidio or Component. If I go with component should I see much difference compare to svideo (my TV isn't HDTV). I heard that the difference could be notice only in HDTV systems.

4) Suggestions on DVDs, right now I have a PS2 as DVD, but I don't like the qty, so I'm planning on buying a new one, I'm looking for something between $100 to $300, my TV isn't Progresive scan, and I don't need it to be THX certified.

Thanks in advance for any replies,
    Pablo Abularach

2. Thomas_Berg

Thomas_Berg Screenwriter

Thomas
    congrats on the new gear! lemme see if i can help you out...

1) for your purposes, cables will not really matter. i seriously doubt you'd notice any difference between Monster and Radio Shack cables in your system. Monster isn't that good anyways.

2) AR's cables are quality components for the price. however, unless you can get them cheaper than RS cables, just stick to what your local Rat Shack has to offer.

3) use component if you can. even though your TV is not HD, you will notice a difference between s-video and component. it will not be as large a difference as jumping from composite to s-video, but it's definitely noticable.