What's new

Need Help Configuring What Projector I Need (1 Viewer)

I'm a newbie at displays and home theatres in general, I'm more into computers which leads me to have some knowledge about this subject. Anyways, I've been really looking into revamping my HTS, and I want to start by getting a front projector.

I need some certain specs for this projector though. I will be moving into a new room (attic) soon and it's fairly large. I'd say the area I'm going to set this up would be 30' x 20' or roughly that size with the actual speaker and speaker placement being focused on about 20' x 20'. I need a projector that will hook up to my computer and act as a monitor as well. I would also like to run some toslink from the Fortissimo III (sound card) to the receiver, and then toslink from the receiver to the projector if that's possible. I realize that the computer would display very horrid with s-video, but I've heard that it looks decent with a vga connection via an adapter (using Radeon 9800 Pro). Would the resolution be capped at what the projector is (looking at 1024 x 768) or would the display, show what the computer shows?

I'll stop right now to further the confusion I'm probally bestowing upon your brains but I am on a budget. I would be willing to go up to about $1,600 for the projector. Also would I be able to use a white wall as a screen for a while... say until christmas? I am going to be starting a new job then.

I'm looking at the Hitachi CP-X275W Projector as of now. Doesn't have all that I want but it's $1,595 and seems rather good.

The InFocus one looks very nice. I'm not to sure about the 800x600 Native, and only 1024x768 max though. Also do any projectors come with a S/PDIF jack? I've only seen RCA Components...

Neil-Wow that's a very nice NEC, I love their computer monitors. That is pretty much what I'm looking for (I realize that toslink would be uesless on them now), but the price tag is quite high.

Gabriel_Lam

Screenwriter
Hitachi CP-X275WA: