Need help calibrating my system PLEASE!!!

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Mark Guidry, Feb 14, 2002.

1. Mark Guidry

Mark Guidry Stunt Coordinator

Ok I have had my system for a while now but never really calibrated it. I have the Ultimate DVD platinum disc to do this but I am not sure how to do it all. I have an ONKYO TX-DS676 receiver and some B&W speakers. I am going to go and get a radio shack dB meter and I have never used one of them before either so I will need some help from someone who is familiar with these things. When I turn the receiver up to 62 on the volume it says ref...is this what they call reference volume...where you are trying to be when you calibrate the system. ANYONE help please!!!

Thanks

Mark

2. Bob McElfresh

Bob McElfresh Producer

Mark: the display on your receiver is an aproximation only. Think if it being true for a "reference" speaker and a SPL meter measuring 1 foot away. Your speakers are different and you sit a different distance.

You should really try and rent Video Essentails or Avia as these disks tell you exactly how to level-adjust your speakers.

In a nutshell:

- Put the SPL meter on a camera tripod at the primary listening position. "C" weighting, Average, make it point up about 45 degrees above your center speaker.

- With the test tones playing on ONE of the front L/R speakers, adjust the main volumn control up/down until the meter reads 75 db

- When the test tone switches to the center speaker, use your receiver remote and go into the "setup" menu and add/subtract volume from the center until it also reads 75 db on the meter.

- Repeat for each of the rear speakers.

- If you have a external sub, adjust it to produce 75-85 db. (Yes, it's ok to let the sub be a little louder for movies).

Hope this helps.

3. Mark Guidry