1. The HTF Tapatalk application has been discontinued. Please see the thread in the Forum Help & Feedback area for more information.
    Dismiss Notice

Need help buying stuff and recommendations

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Cyn, Oct 10, 2002.

1. Cyn

Cyn Auditioning

Hi,

I am very new to this. I first apologize for my very long request. I just bought a new house and it is being built at this time. We are going to buy surround sound speakers (at least 5.1), DVD player, receiver, etc. My budget is around $2500.00 for wires, equipment, etc. I have a Sony Vega TV 32" so do not need a TV at this time. I do not believe my TV is HDTV.

I need suggestions. My living/great room is approximately 17 x 14. It is not a theater-type room, but a living/great room with carpet.

I do not want to buy an all-in-one system. I want to buy separate components. I am looking at the H/K AV 520 and Polk floor standing speakers for left and right front, Polk center, Velodyne subwoofer 12", polk back left and right speakers. The only reason I know about these is because this is what Circuit City has shown me. I almost went with Bose. I live in Hawaii and I do not have a lot of places to buy from and if I buy off the internet, the shipping kills me.

Anyway, I would love to get your expert opinions. We listen to music, but mostly watch movies and regular TV.

Thanks much and Aloha,
    Cyn

2. Frank Zimkas

Frank Zimkas Supporting Actor

Welcome to the Forum!
    #1) If your going top run wires in the walls, ceiling, or attic you should go ahead and wire for a 7.1 setup just in case the upgrade bug bites in the future. Seems to happen with great regularity around here.[​IMG]
    #2) Which Polks are you considering?
    #3) Velodyne makes a very good sub!
    #4) Be sure to include a SPL meter and setup/calibration disk in your budget.
    #5) Enjoy!!

3. Bill Kane

Bill Kane Screenwriter

Cyn,