What's new

Need Help buying New Systems (1 Viewer)

HanZo

Auditioning
Hi guys/gals. I'm new to this stuff so please bare with me.

I already bought my display which is 57" Sony HDTV and now I'm searching for DVD home theater system. I want to know do I need to buy receiver for a complete systems such as the Sony DVD Dream™ System DAV-FC8 or the Bose LifeStyle 35? What Type of connectors? I saw some of wires selling for $145 CDN (Components Video)

My living room is already pre-wire in the ceiling at the four corners. I want a system that is able to function really well with speakers installed in the ceiling. My budget is $2000 CDN.

Please reply with recommendations.

DVD Player?
Receiver?
Speakers System?
Wires?

ChrisWiggles

Senior HTF Member
First, you should go read the beginner's FAQ, by no means a complete HT education, but it has many good basic and more advanced questions answered.

In case you missed the link at the top of the HT Basics forum, go here for the FAQ: http://www.hometheaterforum.com/htfo...hreadid=120328

Complete HTiB (Home theater in a box) systems come with their own reciever (although often a pretty cheesy one), their own DVD player (sometimes bundled all into one extra-cheesy DVD player/reciever), and the speakers and "sub" (again, often a very cheesy excuse for a sub). Now, 2K Canadian should still be able to get you a solid system, without having to go the HTIB route. There are more, separate purchases, and a little bit more setup knowledge is needed, but you'll get a MUCH better system this way. Also, I know of no HTIB that come with in-wall/in-cieling speakers. Usually just very small mountable speakers.

So, if you want a FAR better system, and your budget indicates you can accomplish that, then you'll need to buy a DVD player, a reciever, 5 speakers, and a subwoofer.