Need DIY cable help in Houston

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Shade Watson, Jul 11, 2001.

1. Shade Watson

Shade Watson Stunt Coordinator

Hello fellow DIYers.
    I'm interested in building some audio cables, but the cost for the tools seems to be higher than the cost of the materials I would need. I am hoping some HTF member who lives in or around Houston, would let me borrow their crimping tools, or allow me to come over to their home and use their tools there. I assume that once all the materials are gathered, that it doesn't take long to assemble the cables. I've never done this before so I may need some advise also. I can bring beer!
    What do you say, who would be willing to help a fellow Do-It-Yourselfer?
    [Edited last by Shade Watson on July 11, 2001 at 04:21 PM]

2. Jason Watson

Jason Watson Stunt Coordinator

Shade,
    I am in Houston and have built a number of cables but sadly can not help much as I have used only Audioquest and WBT solder type connectors. If you decide to buy tools,check EPO for prices. Or, maybe you can find really cheap stuff at one of the tool importers on Harwin.
    Good luck,Jason

3. dougW

dougW Stunt Coordinator

I am not in Houston, but if you have any questions, I will be glad to answer them. Since I am in the cable business, I can probably help. [​IMG]
    Lex
    ------------------
    Lexman's Theater

4. Scott Simonian

Scott Simonian Screenwriter

Im new to the whole DIY area. I have been noticing these DIY cable topics, and, I dont get it. Whats the big deal?
    No no no. Im not being mean, I just meant that, well, waht is so great about making your own cables? Can using hand picked material pose better quality? It sounds like it would be hard to do.
    Im just curious.

5. Patrick Sun

Patrick Sun Moderator

Like most DIY projects, you either save money via DIY, or get to spec out the project to YOUR liking if nothing is commercially available at the price point you want to pay.