Need cheap Progressive scan DVD that plays DVD+/-R RW

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by David_J, Oct 29, 2003.

1. David_J

David_J Extra

I'm in the market to replace my old Panny A-120U player that will only play DVD-R. I'd like one that is known for playing DVD+-R and DVD+-RW. I'm not worried about region hacks and things like that. I'd also like to know if this "3:2 pulldown" stuff should be a neccessity? I'm an admitted newbie but I do know that I need a progressive scan player if I want to take advantage of my new HDTV. I've been putting old home movies onto DVD so that is the reason for wanting good support for recordable DVD's.

I'd like to minimize my cost as much as possible so I was looking at places like Sears and Wal Mart at the Panasonic S35, Philips 726, Pioneer DV-260, etc. The Philips is the only one that actually states 3:2 pulldown, but the pioneer states "2:3 progressive scan" which I'm not sure is the same thing. The panasonic doesn't say anything about that. I guess I could just buy one at a time and see if they play my disks. If not then take them back.

Any suggestions?

2. Don_Berg

Don_Berg Supporting Actor

The Panasonic S35 plays all the formats, but I'd recommend a JVC model it loads a lot faster and also plays all DVD+/=R/RW formats plus VCD/SVCD with CDR/RW. The JVC models are XV-N40BK and XV-N50BK, available at Best Buy and other stores - good price well under $100 with a $20 rebate offer right now.

3. David_J

David_J Extra

Thanks I'll check the JVC out.

4. David_J

David_J Extra

I checked bestbuy and they only had the JVC N50BK for $110. I didn't see the 40.