1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

Need cheap 100ft RCA cables

Discussion in 'Accessories, Cables, and Remotes' started by Seth--L, Oct 14, 2004.

  1. Seth--L

    Seth--L Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm doing a multi DV camera shoot, and I need some 100ft long RCA cables so I can hook the cameras up to a TV for monitoring purposes. Video quality is of no concern because all I care about is making sure that the framing is how I want it. Can anyone suggest a place where I can buy such cables at a super low price?

    Thanks.
     
  2. ScottCHI

    ScottCHI Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    make 'em yourself
     
  3. SteveCallas

    SteveCallas Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  4. Stephen Hopkins

    Stephen Hopkins HW Reviewer
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I would say build it as well. Get 100ft of RG6 coax and either crimp on some F connectors and get screw in F to RCA adapters, or solder on some RCAs of your choice. Canare crimp on RCAs do a very good job but the tools would probably be more expensive then you'd want to spend for one cable. If you can find someone to build you one out of Canare components you would be doing well and it would cost abou $7 for the connectors and then the cost of cable (doesn't have to be Canare, especially for this kind of application).
     
  5. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 1999
    Messages:
    6,222
    Likes Received:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Corpus Christi, TX
    Real Name:
    Wayne
    If you go that route you need to choose your coaxial cable carefully. It has to have a copper braid for the shield. A lot of cheaper coax has a shield made from steel. You won’t be soldering that stuff.

    Regards,
    Wayne A. Pflughaupt
     
  6. Seth--L

    Seth--L Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the replies, but I'm really not looking to build my own cabels. As Stephen noted, I'll probably won't save much money because of having to buy tools.
     
  7. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 1999
    Messages:
    6,222
    Likes Received:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Corpus Christi, TX
    Real Name:
    Wayne
    You can get a good Weller soldering iron for under $50. Where you gonna find 100' cables that cheap?
     
  8. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 1999
    Messages:
    6,222
    Likes Received:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Corpus Christi, TX
    Real Name:
    Wayne
    Or as Steve noted, coaxial cable with twist-on "F" connectors, with "F" To RCA adapters. Only common hand tools required; you may already have them.
    The regular (non-gold) twist-on "F"s are $1.30 at the Shack, the adapters are $2.00. That's only $7 for each cable, not counting the cost of the cable, which should be less than 20c a foot.

    Total - less than $30 100' per cable.

    Edit: Parts Express sells twist-on RCAs for RG-59 for the same price as the adapter - $2.00. That saves another $2.50 per cable.
     
  9. Seth--L

    Seth--L Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0


    See Steve Callas' link (thanks Steven). For $7 I can get a 50ft Dual RCA Stereo cable. A Female to Female RCA adapter costs only $1. So, for $8 I have a 100 ft RCA video cable.
     
  10. Philip Hamm

    Philip Hamm Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 1999
    Messages:
    6,873
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Seth,

    Have you ordered from Triangle Cables yet? I highly recommend them, I'm using the same cables that Steve linked to in 50' to go from my receiver and DVD player to my X1. The component is from the DVD player, and one of the "audio" cables is my composite video for VCR/DishNet NTSC/LD. It works perfectly. I'm using another 50' component for 1080i HDTV and it works perfectly as well. Triangle is great, I also recommend www.cablesforless.com as another source of these excellent economical cables.
     
  11. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 1999
    Messages:
    6,222
    Likes Received:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Corpus Christi, TX
    Real Name:
    Wayne
    I’m afraid not. You have a 100ft. audio cable. A “Dual RCA Stereo Cable” doesn’t magically transform into a video cable when you split it and splice it together.

    Regards,
    Wayne A. Pflughaupt
     
  12. ScottCHI

    ScottCHI Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    so his solution will probably work fine
     
  13. Sam>C

    Sam>C Extra

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry to hijack this thread but are am I reading that I can get the bulk cable and the twist on connectors and make good quality RCa cables? Would this work to carry componet signal (3 cables obviously) from a DVD to a TV up through a celing and down to a TV?
     
  14. ScottCHI

    ScottCHI Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    absolutely, why not?
     
  15. Sam>C

    Sam>C Extra

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Great, this will be a great benifit for me.

    Could one also use this same cable for S-Video?

    Sam
     
  16. ScottCHI

    ScottCHI Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    no

    coax is easy to work with. making your own s-video cable would be quite a bit more complicated. i don't know if people do that or not.
     

Share This Page