Need Bookshelf size Speakers for 1/2 mus. & 1/2 HT in $500.00 range a pair

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Todd smith, Apr 3, 2002.

1. Todd smith

Todd smith Supporting Actor

So what are your thoughts? I know there is a similar post on this but I wanted to add a few more specifics. I will be powering with a denon 3802 or similar quality receiver. Keep in mind that I also want a center channel that will blend seamlesly with the front and rears (I will most likely get an aditional pair of the same bookshelves for the rears). Right now I am leaning towards taking a chance on a svs sub to seal the deal unless something will match better with whatever speaks I end up getting. I apreciate your opinions and advice as I am a rookie to this and obviously want to get good gear if I am going to lay down the money. This is a great forum by the way. People are very helpful and friendly and most seem to be very knowledgeabale.

2. Steve Zimmerman

Steve Zimmerman Second Unit

Amongst your other auditions, you might consider the Swans Diva 2.1 bookshelf speakers paired with a matching C3 center channel speaker. Check out the Unofficial Diva FAQ or perhaps even consider requesting a free audition from a nearby Diva owner.
    OOOPPPS! I see from the other thread you started that you already know about the Divas.
    HTH,
    --Steve (Diva and SVS owner)

3. Dan_Jones

Dan_Jones Stunt Coordinator

I'd consider the Axiom Audio M22Ti's with a VP150.

4. Drew_G

Drew_G Auditioning

I have the 3802 w/ Paradigm Studio/20s and the Studio CC. Everything sounds great. The 20s in laminate cost $650 retail but it is easy to get at least 10% off bringing it to $585. If you try ebay you can find them for less than $500. The CC is a fantastic center and is a perfect match.

5. Dave Schofield

Dave Schofield Second Unit