Need beginner info on FTPV's.

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Jereme D, Jun 3, 2002.

1. Jereme D

Jereme D Stunt Coordinator

I'm looking for some basic info on FPTV's. I've gathered a lot of information here, but nothing geared towards complete beginners.

I have one main question. How big should a toom be before you consider a FPTV? My room is about 15x15. I remember seeing someone on this forum who has a similar sized room with a projector, but I can't remember who.

2. Vince Maskeeper

Vince Maskeeper Producer

I have a 12x13 room with a FP.

Really the two issue to consider are:

1) Seating distance-- there is a formula to calculate seating distance for particular signals (example, for standard NTSC video, there is a formula to calculate ideal distance based on screen size). Unfortunately I don't know the formula- but have seen it posted here once or twice, so maybe someone can post it again.

2) Throw distance. Every Projector has a different throw distance to achieve a certain screen size. You need to determine your "wish-list" size screen, and then start checking the needed distances for your chosen projectors to see if this can be achieved in the space you have.

Feel free to post any basics questions you have- someone will be happy to help, or at least provide some links which might help you!

-Vince

3. Jereme D

How large is your screen Vince?

Here are some more questions that I have:

Does the projector need to be mounted to a rafter inside the ceiling? My ceiling appears to be some kind of plaster.

How difficult is it to install a FPTV system? Is this something that I can do myself, or would I absolutely need professional help? I'm a fairly technical person. I just need to see some diagrams or instructions otherwise, on paper.

How much would an entry level system cost (both the projector and the screen)? I don't have many thousands to spend. I'd like it to display an accurate 16:9 image.