What's new

Need advice (1 Viewer)

himmy33

Auditioning
Real Name
Chad
I am a total newb and was told my questions might be better answered here. I am building my first home theater room and will have a lot of questions. Anyway my first question is I am trying to decide on a set of speakers and have been looking at these http://www.newegg.co...=9SIA1J70ZN9764. The receiver I have and will be using is http://www.newegg.co...N82E16882115393. Would this be a good match up or is it a waste of $ on the speakers considering the receiver? If anyone can help or point me in the right direction it would be greatly appreciated!
This will be a dedicated theater room for movies and tv viewing/ sports events.

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam
I had already answered the prior post...paraphrasing here...

That is how you are supposed to buy your speakers. They should be the highest expenditure(to me at least equal to the combined total of everything else).

Those RF7 are so efficient, every AVR will power them fine. Being 101db, I doubt you ever send them more than 10 watts.

himmy33

Auditioning
Real Name
Chad
schan1269 said:
I had already answered the prior post...paraphrasing here...

That is how you are supposed to buy your speakers. They should be the highest expenditure(to me at least equal to the combined total of everything else).

Those RF7 are so efficient, every AVR will power them fine. Being 101db, I doubt you ever send them more than 10 watts.
Thank you for a response in both. Much appreciated!

himmy33

Auditioning
Real Name
Chad
I was wondering if the bookshelf speakers are a good idea or if I should do four pairs of the surround speakers? Also are these subs a good idea or is there a better idea? Maybe something with more low end like the http://www.klipsch.com/sw-115/details#specs any answers or help would be greatly appreciated!