1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

Need advice with Set-Up

Discussion in 'Displays' started by Christopher.M, May 11, 2005.

1. Christopher.M

Christopher.M Auditioning

Though this is my first post, I've been lurking in the shadows of the forum reading the various comments on what TVs are worthwhile in different situations. The advice always seems to center around a select group of displays based on situation... so here is my rather odd situation...

I'm a college student with a bit of cash to spend. My current limitations are:

Small(ish) apartment. (so projectors might not work well)
    Active common area. (so the most expensive gear is a no go)

I am looking to spend $2,000 or less on a 42" or so display.

I am told that not all displays listed as 480 or 720 upconvert properly, so I should look for a native 1080i. I am also told that I should be looking for 16x9 & 1024x768 resolution. I am not sure what is necessay or if these are things I should look for. Also, I live at a rather high altitude 7,000 + feet, and have been warned of issues with plasma screens due to gas expansion going up and down in elevations. (though I am not too sure this is true.)

What I currently have is a Samsung 42" HC-P4752W 1080iHDTV monitor and a Samsung DVD-HD841 DVD player. I run the audio through my computer's soundcard, which is a SoundBlaster Audigy 2 ZS Platinum Pro (has external connection I/O hub) which is connected to a set of Klipsch Pro Media Ultra 5.1 speakers. (the rest of the computer is rather high end as well. I have a seperate monitor for computer use)

Ok, so this is alot of information, but I figured the more information I give about my current set-up the better someone will be able to advise me.