Need Advice! Please help me build my first system! Newbie here!

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Drew Stanton, Aug 2, 2001.

1. Drew Stanton

Drew Stanton Extra

Hello guys. This is my first post in this forum. I just found out about it actually. :)
    But I am posting in here because I am looking to build my first home theatre system. First let me tell you guys about my situation...
    I am working at Best Buy and just started, and once I get my discount I am going to be purchasing all my stuff from there. I am looking to put this in my dorm room, which is not too big. I am not lookin to blow the roof off the place or anything though, just lookin for a good sound that is above average.
    At first I was looking at those package boxed sets (reciever + speakers + subs), but after talkin to people I am not so sure about doing that. I am looking right now at the Pioneer VSX-D810S reciever. I hear they have a package deal that comes with speakers also, but I have yet to check into that. I am also looking at the Outlaw Audio 1050 Reciever. I have been hearing good things about this also, but don't know if they carry them at best buy. Again, I want to get stuff they have at best buy cause of my discount. After I get a reciever, I am lookin to get some speakers (obviously :) ). But at first I was giong to get those 5 speaker sets that come w/a sub, but again I am not sure anymore after talkin to people. But if I were to get those, what is a good brand to get? And if I was to buy everything seperate (Front speakers, center, rear 2 speakers, then rear center and a sub), which ones should I look at? I am definitely lookin at a 6.1 set, so it will be 2 fronts, 1 front center, 2 rears, 1 rear center, then the sub.
    I plan on hooking up my PS2, Computer Audio, and MAYBE a DVD player to this reciever. All this will be hooked to my Sony Wega 27" TV I plan to purchase.