What's new

Need advice on installers recommendations (1 Viewer)

DarrylR

Auditioning
I have been scanning these boards for several months trying to learn as much as I can about home theater so that I can be an educated consumer. I'm not a DIY'r but like to know what I'm paying for. I recently had my basement finished and built a dedicated home theater (17' x 15') no windows and 9 ft ceilings. We are using a Home Theater company to install our theater and would like some advice on their recommendations. I can't nor do I want to do it myself so I realize that I am limited to whatever manufacturers my installer deals with and stuck paying MSRP on many of the products they are using. With all that in mind, I would appreciate this boards comments and suggestions on their recommendations.

Seleco Domino 20 Projector or Runco CL-510(Which one?)
Marantz SR7300 Receiver
PerfectVu 106" 16:9 fixed screen(anyone heard of this company?)
Marantz DV4300 DVD Player
Niles FG00477 Intellicontrol remote(do I really need this?)
JM Lab Cobalt Series Speakers & Subwoofer(CC800 center;816s fronts;SW800 subwoofer; SR800 surrounds)

I plan to watch DVDs, Satellite(High Def), and sporting events on regular TV.

I appreciate any and all comments.

Lew Crippen

Senior HTF Member
Darryl this seems link a very nice setup. I’m not that familiar with front projection, so I’ll leave that to someone else.

The Marantz receiver is a very fine receiver indeed. It is worth noting that the SR7300 has been replaced by the SR7400, the main difference being that the 7300 having six channel output while the 7400 has 7 channel output. There are probably some other differences of which I’m unaware.

I don’t really know anything about their DVD players, but this is an overall fine company, so I’m sure that the are good ones.

I have not heard the speakers, but they have a sound reputation.