Need Advice On Home Theatre

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by BurtS, Feb 2, 2004.

1. BurtS

BurtS Stunt Coordinator

Hello I was recently running a radio shack home theater and the reciever has just broken[​IMG] Im looking to buy a quality reciever with 7.1 and digital ex as well as high fidelity rear speakers center channel and 2 speakers for the ex. I have searched the forums but its making my head sore with all the different brands etc.
    So whats a good reciever to buy(300-450) I was looking at the sony str-de995 for 347.00 what do you think. I was also looking into bose speakers but upon a search I found out that not many like it and it doesnt give a good frequency range, so whats recommended as high fidelity wall mount speakers go?
    This is my very first post and im a little new to the home theatre seen but I do run a super high fidelity stereo system in my car and want something similar for my home theatre.

2. Brian Corr

Brian Corr Supporting Actor

I don't think you'll have any problems with any of the major brand receivers in the under $400 range. I have a Pioneer 812 in our living room that does the job just fine.

You can do alot better than Bose for less money. IMO, Bose sell for about twice what they are worth.
    You might check out HSU Research. http://www.hsuresearch.com/
    I've been reading good things about the Ventriloquist system. A friend heard them at CES and thought they were probably the biggest standout at the show. He's also a car stereo guy and competes in that area.

3. Jesse Sharrow

Jesse Sharrow Supporting Actor

Can I ask what you have for car stereo equipment? Also what is your budget on the speakers? What kind of music do you listen to? Is this mostly for home theater or music? What size room do you have? These are all facters.

4. Gene_K

Gene_K Auditioning

I have a Yamaha DSP-A3090 for sale for $600.00 if you are interested. It's a 7.1 receiver. Search for it on Google for more info.

5. John S

John S Producer