Need advice on flexy rod size

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Mike Khor, May 19, 2002.

  1. Mike Khor

    Mike Khor Auditioning

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    About to build my first flexy rack and was wondering if anybody has done it with 1cm thick threaded rods instead of the usual 5/8" ones? Reason I'm asking is that I can't find anything bigger than that here (malaysia)

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Bill_Weinreich

    Bill_Weinreich Second Unit

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2000
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Lets see there are 4047 square meters in an acre and 6 fathoms in a foot so that will make your flexy rod just under 1/2"(about .4) Will this be enough? Maybe. It will depend on size of rack, weight it will be holding, distance between shelves and number of rods used. If you are holding standard equip (No monster sized amps), keep your shelf spacing as short as possible. This will reduce flex in your flexy.[​IMG] keep the weight on the lower shelves and you should be O.K.
    Bill
     
  3. Mike Khor

    Mike Khor Auditioning

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for your reply, Bill. Actually, my concern for the flexy's strength is because I intend to put my 29" Sony on top (not quite sure what the weight is). I wonder if it'll hold. The only other equipment will be a DVD player, CD player, VCR, and the receiver, for now that is.

    Perhaps I should consider adding 2 more rods in the middle (of the TV) and space out the width of the shelf?
     
  4. Robin Smith

    Robin Smith Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2000
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How high are you planning on making the top shelf?

    I'd be very leary of its stability if you plan on going more than 18" high, no matter the spacing between.

    1 cm rods sounds like it would be too thin.

    If you hold the rod on either end, can you bend it much with your bare hands? If so, I'd say its a no no, even if you used 6 rods instead of 4.

    I wouldn't want to see you TV come crashing down.

    Just my 2cents (or should that be 2 ringgits?)

    Robin Smith
     
  5. Mike Khor

    Mike Khor Auditioning

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, I had intended to make a rack that's 24" high. You don't think using more rods would be stronger?
    BTW, it's 2 sen over here, and no plural for ringgit [​IMG]
     
  6. Carl Johnson

    Carl Johnson Cinematographer

    Joined:
    May 6, 1999
    Messages:
    2,259
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Real Name:
    Carl III
    I don't have a conversion chart on me but assuming the above post is correct and 1cm is about .4in then that is too thin to support a 29" television. I've built a couple of heavy duty racks with 5/8 inch rods and they are strong enough to support my HT and aquarium. I built a rack with rods that were about .4in and I wouldn't trust it to hold anything heavier than my 17" cpu monitor.
     
  7. Mike Khor

    Mike Khor Auditioning

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hmmm... sounds like you know what you're talking about, Carl. I guess I'd better not take the chance, HT stuff costs good money. I'm going to look at alternatives.

    Thanks everyone.
     

Share This Page