Need advice on first DIY sub project (possibly isobarik)

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Dustin B, Mar 12, 2001.

1. Dustin B

Dustin B Producer

This will be my first DIY sub project if I decide to do it (a thread on diy over on AVS from Bob Sorel lead me over to this forum, Thanks Bob). I'm a University student and have access to a table saw, router and any other tool I am likely to need to complete this project at my dad's place (and his jack of all trades experience in using them, as he grew up on a farm). This will be fairly long, but I'm not sure whether I want to do it or not. So I'm just gonna through out everything I'm thinking about and see what feed back this forum can provide me with, hopefully making the decision easier rather than harder.
    First off I'll put out that I'm in Canada and therefore have access to Paradigm stuff pretty cheap. I currently have a Paradigm PDR10 (payed about $230 USD for it) that is feed everything below 80hz. For it's price I like the way it sounds, and am reasonably pleased with its output. However, with some DVDs and some tracks from Enya or Lenny Kravitz the sub feels strained (and I feel I'm missing something, but for a PDR10, I guess I can't complain). So keep in mind that I'm not looking for that much more than a PDR10 can put out. I just want to beable to produce sound down to 20hz with some authority (but not knock you over from 6 feet away authority). Anyways, before I came across the possibility of building my own sub I was planning on getting a Paradigm PW2200. In the end it would have cost me between $900 and $950 CDN including taxes (aprrox $600 to $630 USD) depending on the deal I got at my local dealer. So that's the budget constraint I'd like to stick to for my DIY project.