Need advice on entry-level receiver

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Matt Fisher, Dec 12, 2004.

1. Matt Fisher

Matt Fisher Second Unit

For the past year or so I've been using a Kenwood VR-505 receiver which has done the trick, however I recently upgraded to a DVD player with DVD-Audio and unfortunately the receiver doesn't have the RCA 5.1 inputs. I'm not looking to spend too much money, but I don't want anything that's gonna take out the whole idea of upgrading to DVD-A. I'm a college student and thus budget is limited, I don't need anything over-powering, I won't be in a room bigger than 15' x 15' for at least a few more years, I checked out Sony's lower end models, but everyone seems to have bad things to say. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

2. Kevin Alexander

Kevin Alexander Screenwriter

Kenwood makes a nice digital amped receiver (similar to the Panasonics) if you wanted to stay Kenwood. The model is the VRS-7100. Target carries it if you want to give it a try. It won't disappoint.

3. Matt Fisher

Matt Fisher Second Unit

Looks pretty solid, and I've liked the quality of my Kenwood thus far, $350-400 is a bit out of my range at the moment though, does Kenwood have anything else with hi-res audio support but lower down the line?

4. ChuckSolo

ChuckSolo Screenwriter

If you are really on a budget, Sherwood has a 5.1 receiver with inputs for 5.1 analog audio. I have one in my bedroom and I got it for less than $130.00 at Fry's Electronics.

5. Kevin Alexander

Kevin Alexander Screenwriter

I second the Sherwood. Very nice on the cheap. We have a new Fry's here in ATL too.

6. Muhammed

Muhammed Agent

Check out the entry level Onkyos, they may also fit your budget. The digital Kenwoods are nice, especially with digital inputs, but I don't think they have 5.1 inputs for DVD-Audio either.

7. eddieZEN

eddieZEN Second Unit

Check out the Onkyo receivers at ecost.com, the cheapest 6.1 one is a refurb TX-SR501 for $160.

8. Matt Fisher