What's new

Need advice on entry-level receiver (1 Viewer)

Matt Fisher

Second Unit
For the past year or so I've been using a Kenwood VR-505 receiver which has done the trick, however I recently upgraded to a DVD player with DVD-Audio and unfortunately the receiver doesn't have the RCA 5.1 inputs. I'm not looking to spend too much money, but I don't want anything that's gonna take out the whole idea of upgrading to DVD-A. I'm a college student and thus budget is limited, I don't need anything over-powering, I won't be in a room bigger than 15' x 15' for at least a few more years, I checked out Sony's lower end models, but everyone seems to have bad things to say. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Kevin Alexander

Screenwriter
Kenwood makes a nice digital amped receiver (similar to the Panasonics) if you wanted to stay Kenwood. The model is the VRS-7100. Target carries it if you want to give it a try. It won't disappoint.

Matt Fisher

Second Unit
Looks pretty solid, and I've liked the quality of my Kenwood thus far, $350-400 is a bit out of my range at the moment though, does Kenwood have anything else with hi-res audio support but lower down the line?

ChuckSolo

Screenwriter
If you are really on a budget, Sherwood has a 5.1 receiver with inputs for 5.1 analog audio. I have one in my bedroom and I got it for less than $130.00 at Fry's Electronics.

Muhammed

Agent
Check out the entry level Onkyos, they may also fit your budget. The digital Kenwoods are nice, especially with digital inputs, but I don't think they have 5.1 inputs for DVD-Audio either.

eddieZEN

Second Unit
Check out the Onkyo receivers at ecost.com the cheapest 6.1 one is a refurb TX-SR501 for $160.

ChristopherDAC

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
AE5VI
That Sherwood RD-6108 really is a very decent item for the money. There's certainly nothing special about it, but it does a decent job; it also has an F connector for the FM tuner and an actual Power switch as well as a standby mode.