Need advice on building a system

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by Don:::A, Dec 8, 2003.

1. Don:::A

Don:::A Auditioning

Hi, I'm new to home theatre and am glad to have found this board as a resource. We are remodeling the den and have been waiting for this oppty to install a HT system. Room is 17x13 with 9' ceiling.

Room has a fireplace midway on one of the long walls. We've decided to hang a 42" plasma TV over the fireplace mantle (Panasonic TH-42PA20U) and add a 5.1 surround system to the TV and existing Toshiba DVD player. A couple of questions:

1. Can I use the speakers attached to the Plasma TV as the center channel for 5.1?

2. Was originally looking at HTiB systems, but after reading here, am re-thinking. What features and specs should I be looking for? Would like to spend under $1000 on receiver/speakers. Better to shop online or at Best Buy?

3. Sweetie likes to move furniture around every couple of months. Was thinking about wall-mounting a speaker in each corner of the room, with the center by the TV, and sub next to the amp cabinet. Will this yield acceptable sound?

Welcome any comments, suggestions, etc. on this planned set-up. Have not bought anything yet...still have the Mitsubishi 35" CRT set circa 1995....

Don

2. ChrisLazarko

ChrisLazarko Supporting Actor

To answer your questions:

1) No you cannot.

2)It all depends on budget. BestBuy sells some mid-end audio equipment for some decent prices. Although I would mainly look at a store than deals in audio so you can compare to some better stuff.

For $1000 you should be able to get a decent deal, some things I would recommend looking at are for reciever/speakers/sub would be:

Reciever:
    Harman/Kardon AVR-125
    Denon AVR1603
    Onkyo TSXR501
    Yamaha RX-V440