Need Advice on a new HDTV

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by geneO, Jul 8, 2001.

1. geneO

geneO Auditioning

Hello Experts,
    I am totally new to HDTVs and HTSs. I have spent at least 20 hours visiting a number of sites and reading discussions on this forum. I've read at least 6 pages so far on HTF on the subject of HDTVs and STBs and audio systems. I've learned a lot and even joined G. Merson's newsletter and titanTV.
    I must admit I know much more now than I did a few days ago. However, I am also having 2nd thoughts about the HDTV I was about to purchase a few days ago.
    Since I have a good bit of Sony equipment, i.e. VAIO computer, Digital 8 camcorder, and VCRs, I had decided to go with a Sony 57" KP57XBR10W HDTV-ready. I can't go much bigger than that due to the size of the room. I was going to get a Dish 6000 receiver and an additional dish for the 61.5 satellite to obtain HD broadcasts. And, possibly the OTA 8VSB for local channels(I already have cable for them now). There are no HD broadcasts in my area at the present time. I also intended to get a progressive scan DVD and a Surround sound system.
    I have learned that most of you seem to favor the Toshiba 50H81 or the 56H81(hope I got that right). Or, one of the Mitsubishi Platinum or Diamond series or the Pioneer series. So, I'm wavering on my Sony now.
    One issue seems to be the lack of two(2)HD component inputs, thus making it impossibe to run both a satellite feed and a DVD feed into the TV. Is this correct? Is it possible to run the DVD into the 6000 receiver (or vice versa)and then run the HD line into the TV?