What's new

Need advice in the $7000 range (1 Viewer)

BarryL

Auditioning
Hi, I am somewhat new to this and have done a fair amount of research. I am willing to go as high as $7000 for separates or an AV receiver. Past experience has me leaning to separates, however, the new Sunfire Ultimate, the Denon 5803 and the B&K AVR507 are also possibilities. Given this budget, what would you do?

Thanks,
Barry

p.s. the only installed component so far is a Seleco HT300+ and a 110" Greyhawk screen.

AndrewKC

Agent
With 7K to spend, I would definitely be looking into separates if I were in your shoes. Are you going to be using 5.1 or 6/7.1? And is the 7K allocated just for amplification and processing?

Frank joe

Stunt Coordinator
ok, at 7k there are a lot of options, and seperates are they way to go. one question what speakers do you have are you going to change those also???? help us give you a better answer .frank

BarryL

Auditioning
THe $7K is just for the amp and pre-amp. I am considering B&W speakers but have not purchased them yet. The room has been wired for 7.1 sound and is approximately 24 x 20 with a 9 foot ceiling.

Thanks,
Barry

MikeTz

Stunt Coordinator
Barry:

For $7K consider the following:

AV Controllers:

Anthem AVM-20
Krell Showcase
Parasound Halo C2
Sunfire Theater Grand III
Rotel 1098
Theta Casanova

Amplifiers:

Adcom GFA 7807
Anthem MCA-50
Aragon 2007
B&K Ref 200.7
Bryston 9B-SST (used)
Classe CAV-180
Cary Audio Cinema 5
Krell Showcase 7
McCormack DNA-HT5
Parasound HCA-2205AT
Rotel 1095