What's new

Need advice for building THE CAVE home theater (1 Viewer)

Perry Ross

Auditioning
HELP! I am finishing my basement, and plan to build a home theater with a subterranean cave theme. I have attached a jpeg image of the proposed floorplan of “THE CAVE,” and am looking for critics, suggestions, acoustical advice, etc.

I am an amateur, but this is what I have planned: There will be no 90 degree corners in the room. The dimensions will be as follows:

Approximately 18 feet from side to side
Approximately 20 feet from front to back
Ceiling height 9 feet (with domed fiber optic starfield)

ENTRANCE: The soundproof door will be a heavy 3” thick, 4 ft diameter round Bilbo-Baggins style door (as seen in Lord of the Rings). As you come in the tunnel-like entrance you will walk up a ramp to an elevation about 2 feet off the concrete floor. The ceiling of the tunnel will have a rounded barrel vault, and there will be medieval sconces with torch-like lightbulbs recessed into the walls of the passageway.

THEATER: At the end of the tunnel you walk into the theater. Remember, you are standing 2 feet off the concrete floor, and as you look toward the front you will notice that there are four rows of eight seats, with each row on its own level, and a 6” drop between each level as you go towards the front.

AISLE: The center aisle between the seats will not have steps, but rather be a sloped ramp leading down to grade level.