Need advice about an acting agent

Discussion in 'After Hours Lounge (Off Topic)' started by tyler payne, Feb 7, 2004.

1. tyler payne

tyler payne Second Unit

Hey, gals and pals. I'm new to the forum and I need some advice.

A couple of days ago at work, I work in retail, I was on break outside joking around with a couple of guys. A woman approached me and asked if she could talk with me. She said that she worked for an agent that represents actors and asked if I had ever considered acting. I told her that I had no experience with acting and that I had no formal training.

She said that I should submit a head shot and resume to the agency she worked at. My first thought was that this was some kind of money scheme, and I asked what kind of fees were necessary. She told me that they agency she worked for only made money when their clients made money, and no money changed hands until they got you a job.

I have since done some research and found that the agency is accredited with SAG. The points that I am seeking advise on are: (1) Do I need to submit a professional head shot, or can I just submit a nice head shot I take myself? (I have tried to call the agency to ask them but I have only had time to call after their business hours, and I feel funny leaving messages for someone I do not know.) (2) What should I include on my resume? I don't think they would be very interested in my retail or landscaping background. I worked for a radio station for a couple of years as on-air talent, have done amateur stand up when I was in college on campus and at local clubs, and play a couple of instruments. (piano, and saxophone)