What's new

need a subwoofer for a yamaha RX-V485 (1 Viewer)

DanTheMan1379

Auditioning
Real Name
Daniel
hi
i have a RX-V485 and i need a subwoofer that works with this
receiver. my budget is $120 for the subwoofer. any suggests?

Mike Frezon

Premium
Senior HTF Member
While I don't have personal experience with the BIC, they are well-liked by many on the site and will give you better performance than the smaller Polk.

Good luck with your purchase.

If you can, please report back and let us know what you think.

DanTheMan1379

Auditioning
Real Name
Daniel
well im pretty new at this sound system stuff. initially when i bought the V485 i thought it came with speakers and subwoofer. When it didn't i hooked up the speakers from my previous sound system. but the previous subwoofer didn't have a built-in amplifier. opps.... thats how i learn i guess.

Mike Frezon

Premium
Senior HTF Member
Well...you're beginning a fun journey.

...which each and every one of us at the HTF underwent at some time in our hobby...and that's getting started.

I started off in 2000 with the purchase of an all-in-one system @ Circuit City that featured a Sony receiver and Jensen speakers and subwoofer. Since then I have upgrade each and every part of my system several times over. And I predict that will be in your future, too. We even have a medical term for it..."upgradeitis!" :D

I hope you continue to take advantage of all the expertise our members have to offer (on hardware AND software). :welcome:

My first HT purchase:

full

DanTheMan1379

Auditioning
Real Name
Daniel
well looks like a sweet deal :)

hey for the future how do i know if a receiver comes with everything? is there keywords i look for in getting a whole set? i feel like such a newbie LOL

Mike Frezon

Premium
Senior HTF Member