Need a sub that has a highpass filter built in?

Discussion in 'Speakers & Subwoofers' started by Dave A., Jun 8, 2003.

1. Dave A.

Dave A. Extra

I have no sub output on my Pioneer VSX-9300 and i was told i need a powerd sub that has a high pass filter..with speaker inputs so i can run the speakers in to it then out the back of it inot the AMp unit...thus giving me the lows i need with out having to buy a whole new setup.

Any reccomendations on this type of sub..or aanother way to do this with my existing non powerd sub?

Also canb someone reccomend a good set of speakers i need 4 for the front and 2 the rear.

Aslo sorry for my total lack of understanding of this type of setup...i am totally new to owning any kind of real HT setup so please forgive me[​IMG]

Thanks!

Dave A.

2. Kevin C Brown

Kevin C Brown Producer

Any sub that has speaker level inputs (and outputs) has a high pass filter built in. The low passed signal is kept within the sub. The high passed signal is sent out the speaker level jacks to your speakers.

Usually there is a crossover adjustment knob to adjust what the high/low pass freq is.

3. Dave A.

Dave A. Extra

Wow thanks man , i would have never figured that out...lol
    Ok so waht would i be looking at price wise ...i mean i do not want to spend a bundle on one sub ....but at the same time i do not want crap[​IMG]

4. GeoffM

GeoffM Agent

if you're handy you might want to consider a DIY ... check out the DIY section on the forum

5. Dave A.

Dave A. Extra

Geoff i am pretty handy, i looked there but i have no idea where to start...like what driver/amp to use and dimensions and all that...is there a program i can dl that will tell me dimensions and all i need?

6. GeoffM

GeoffM Agent

Dave,