1. The HTF Tapatalk application has been discontinued. Please see the thread in the Forum Help & Feedback area for more information.
    Dismiss Notice

Need a Little Help and Some Suggestions

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by StuSm, May 17, 2004.

1. StuSm

StuSm Auditioning

I am in the process of building a new house and plan on installing a home theater system. I am a complete newbie when it comes to home theater. I do not want to spend an arm and a leg. I am already doing that on the rest of the house. I like most people initially look at the Bose systems (Life Style 12, Sam’s Club). The little bit of information that I have picked up was that some people say the Bose speakers are great but I may be better off using a different make amplifier and DVD/CD player. The room that it will be going into is 24 foot by 30 foot. It is a family room with other furniture and maybe a pool table at some point. It will not be strictly a home theater room. Can you give me some help on going about making a selection? Open to suggestions.

2. ChrisWiggles

ChrisWiggles Producer

Well, run yourself a search on "bose" here. I think this will very quickly outweigh what little information you've gathered so far.

I would strongly recommend you exit the chain stores, and find specialty dealers who carry good brands, and take a listen to various kinds of speakers in various priceranges. Everything you can possibly listen to, listen to it carefully with music that you know (bring your music with you, and a variety).

I always like to recommend Paradigm as an excellent starting place. Usually good dealers (not chains), excellent value, and a great way to begin searching.

3. Brian_PJ

Brian_PJ Auditioning

I got an all-in-one package a few months ago and have been very pleased with it. And I just saw that tweeter is having a $150 sale (ugh!!!). Go to tweeter.com and check out the Denon/Mirage package.

4. Jack Briggs

Jack Briggs Executive Producer