Need 2 Zone Receiver - $500 or less

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Chad Potter, Sep 2, 2006.

1. Chad Potter

Chad Potter Extra

I'm a newbie. I'm building my 1st HT setup. Have a $500 budget for a receiver. Through the help of the forum I will be purchasing the following 5.1 speaker setup:

Ascend Acoustics

Center: CMT-340
    L/R: CMT-340 x 2
    Surrounds: HTM-200 x 2
    Sub: SVS PB-12

I will use the system for about 80% HT and 20% Music. I need a receiver that will allow 2 zones as the upstairs is prewired for multi-room audio. I plan on taking advantage of this in the future. I initially looked at the Yamaha RX-N600. The receiver is attractive given its built in LAN port, but is certainly less powerful than other receivers in the same price range. At this point in my research, I think the Pioneer Elite VSX-80TXV would be a reasonable option. This can be found through several online retailers between $450 and $500 (not Authorized sellers). Are there any other suggestions given my price range and need for Zone 2? Thanks. Chad

2. Norman Short

Norman Short Stunt Coordinator

I've just ordered the Pioneer VSX-80TXV and paid in the price range you mentioned. I've still not read any reviews on it though; I've been scouring forums for mention of this model but very little has been said as of now. On paper at least it looks like a nice fit for you, and for me.

I would have waited for the HDMI 1.3 models but my longtime receiver just bit the dust and I'm hurting for a control center right now.

I'm looking forward to hearing more about this new line of receivers.

3. Nick:G

Nick:G Stunt Coordinator

For $449, you can get the Denon AVR-1707, which does have dual zone capability and allows you to re-assign the unused "surround back" amplifier channels to power the second one without buying an additional 2-channel amp. The 1707 is rated at 75W per channel. You can step up to a little more power for $100 more (AVR-1907, 85W per channel).

4. Chad Potter