What's new

Native 4:3 projector for 16:9 material (1 Viewer)

JakeCo

Agent
I am new to HT but I have been doing a lot of reading. I am interested in either a DLP or LCD projecotor that will be ceiling mounted. My budget is between $1000 - $1500. I have been looking closly at the Sanyo PLV-Z1 and the InFocus X1. I know that the Sanyo is native 16:9 and the InFocus is native 4:3. The only thing I will be using the projector for is watching movies so I am set on it being 16:9 for almost all source material.

Will the Sanyo be a better choice because it is native 16:9? If 16:9 is used with the InFocus will it somehow be stretched or compromised because of the InFocus being native 4:3? Thanks.

RANDY FISHER

Second Unit
I have an X1 and run it in 16:9 mode most of the time for DVD's.

If you set up your DVD player for 16:9 you get the full anamorphic image in this mode but with unused planel areas at the top and bottom. If you have a 16:9 screen there will always be some unused panel in the form of black bars falling off the top and bottom of the screen. If your setup is like the one mentioned above you can either stretch 4:3 material to 16:9 or use the projectors "native" mode to put the 4:3 image in the center of the screen with black bars on the sides.

I went with the X1 over the Z1 because I much prefer DLP technology over LCD for various reasons.

hope this helps...Randy

JakeCo

Agent
Randy,
Thanks for the reply. I know that when using a 16:9 screen and watching 16:9 material, that there will still be black bars on the top and bottom. I thought that this depended on the movie's aspect ratio. Movies that are 1.85:1 will have very, very small black bars on the top and bottom, if any. But movies that have 2.35:1, will have larger black bars, although not as big as on a 4:3 screen. Is this right?

I forgot to mention that the screen I will be using is 16:9 and that the projector I use will be projecting 16:9 material 99.99% of the time.

RANDY FISHER

Second Unit