MyFi2 Problem

Discussion in 'Mobile Phones / Entertainment' started by Rob.melone, Dec 29, 2004.

  1. Rob.melone

    Rob.melone Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I recently purchased a Delphi MyFi2 and home kit for home use only. Following the instructions, I connected the unit to my Sony ES Receiver and noticed an audible humming sound. I tried different audio inputs with the same results. I have used the audio inputs of this receiver before without any problem. I also adjusted the audio level of the unit which did not help. Delphi tech support did not help either. I then disconnected the unit from the receiver and tried the FM Modulator. The humming sound disappeared. I intend to replace the RCA cable but other then that what can I do? While the FM Modulator works well and sounds fine, I feel that I should be able to hard-wire the unit to my receiver. I understand that this may be a defective unit, which I can return, but is it possible that the output of the MyFi2 is not compatible with the audio inputs of my receiver? Comments are appreciated.
     
  2. SteveK

    SteveK Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2000
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Rob - Two suggestions. First, make sure your input cable is plugged tightly into the LineOut jack on the SkyFi home cradle. This will usually take care of the problem.

    If this doesn't take care of the problem, you can purchase a GLI (Ground Loop Isolator) at Best Buy or Radio Shack, just like you might use for a car. I have one on my home system, and it took care of the problem. I don't have that problem on other SkyFi cradles (I have 3), so perhaps I should have simply ensured the connection was tight, but I bought it before I knew about that simple solution.

    The first suggestion should work, and if not, the second one should definitely take care of the problem.

    Good luck!

    Steve K.
     
  3. MatS

    MatS Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2000
    Messages:
    1,593
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    the subject might also need to be changed by a mod to say 'SkyFi2' since there is no MyFi2
     
  4. Rob.melone

    Rob.melone Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks Steve, you were right. The cable was not seated tight enough in the unit. It works fine now. What an amazing sound!

    Thanks again.
    Rob
     
  5. SteveK

    SteveK Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2000
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Rob - It seems not having a tight enough connection is a common problem, but fortunately is easily fixed. Glad it worked for you. I'm sure you'll get lots of enjoyment out of your new SkyFi2, especially now that it's working properly.

    Enjoy!

    Steve K.
     

Share This Page