My Windows 2000 Nightmare

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Patrick Larkin, Nov 22, 2002.

1. Patrick Larkin

Patrick Larkin Screenwriter

So, I use a Mac. I use MacOS X because most of my work is done within OS X's Unix environment.
    I decided for kicks to install Virtual PC with Windows 2000 Pro so I could try out DVDProfiler. I install VPC and Windows, no problem.
    Since I worry about security for a living (thus, the absence of any windows machines) I decided I better run what Microsoft calls "Windows Update." This apparently opens a webpage at Microsoft which examines your OS and tells you what updates you need.
    Windows Update tells me: "There are 26 Critical updates for your system." 26??!?!?! CRITICAL??? OK, fine. I click install. The obligatory license agreement pops up and another window in front telling me some script has failed and do I wish to continue. I say Yes. The License Agreement is back with the AGREE button GRAYED out. I go down the list and every single update reacts the same way.
    Fine, I'll just use an insecure and buggy version of Windows for the time being. [​IMG]
    I download DVDProfiler. I am then STUNNED to find out that Microsoft STILL in 2002 has not put support for decoding a .zip file as part of the OS!!! Thats how it was in 1995 - I would figure they'd change it. [​IMG]
    But, alas, this is where the beauty of the Mac comes in. I simply drag the DVDProfiler zip file right out of the Windows window and onto my desktop where the Mac IS able to decode the Zip file. I drag the folder back to Windows and move on.
    BTW, the MacOS X Software Update works flawlessly.

2. John_Berger

John_Berger Cinematographer

You have to remember that Microsoft got where they are by convincing people that they need Microsoft software, not because that software was any good. (Of course, the unrealistic pricing of Macs and Jobs' refusal to allow Apple clones did not help to slow Microsoft's ascent.)