My uncle's old Polk speakers

Discussion in 'Speakers & Subwoofers' started by Daniel J, Sep 11, 2003.

1. Daniel J

Daniel J Stunt Coordinator

I'm living with my grandparents for my first year of university, staying in a log cabin a little ways from the house. I like log cabins, and I don't mind splitting firewood, so I've been looking forward to this all summer. But nothing could have prepared me for the discoveries I've made...

My uncle was staying in the cabin while he and his wife were waiting for their visas to clear before he left for Kenya around three years ago, so they left alot of stuff.

Like a pair of Polk monitor 7s and an Onkyo stereo reciever/CD player combo.

[​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

I've been using budget-quality headphones at home for the past several years, so this experience is absolutely euphoric. All my music sounds better. "Selling England by the Pound" sound like... ... I still can't put it into words! Movies sound awesome, though I wish I had the money to put together a sub that would compliment these speakers. But the bass is more than enough for my student-sized budget. Songs like "beauty never fades" from the Animatrix album take on an entirely new depth, with a kick drum that takes center stage and pulses your mind into hallucenation...

Now the kicker- I found a pair of monitor 5jrs in the basement of the house. Unfortunately one of the tweeters is missing. [​IMG]

The Onkyo stereo has an A+B setting: Would Using the 7s and 5jrs at the same time ruin the "balanced" sound I'm getting with the 7s? I don't really need more volume, but I figure it would be cool to try at the very least...

Where might I find tweeters for the 5jrs? I'm assuming it would be best to replace both rather than risk a mis-match due to age/etc. Are there third-party tweets that would sound good in these? Or would it be best to use Polk's stuff?