My subwoofer wont work

Discussion in 'Speakers & Subwoofers' started by Allen Marshall, Dec 4, 2004.

  1. Allen Marshall

    Allen Marshall Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2003
    Messages:
    561
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I hooked my subwoofer up in a different room and it wont work. Green light turns on and everything. Everything is hooked up right, it just doesnt work. So i go "wait, i know, it's because subwoofer isnt on on the reciever!" but i went in there and it was on, the sub level was up, everything was were it's supposed to be to work but it doesnt make any sound.

    It's an SVS PB12-Plus/2 (is that what they're callin it now?) and it's 6 months old. When i unhooked it in the other room i accidently left the sub on so it made the hoof noise when i took the cord out of the reciever.

    Is my sub broken or can anybody think of something that could not be making it work.
     
  2. Tony Genovese

    Tony Genovese Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2000
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This sounds like the key to your problem. Did you disconnect the RCA plug prior to powering down the sub? if you, you may have blown an internal fuse in the amp driving your sub.
     
  3. Tom Vodhanel

    Tom Vodhanel Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 1998
    Messages:
    2,215
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Be sure you have the subwoofer cable connected to the correct RCAs on the receiver and sub. Be sure all speakers are set to SMALL in the speaker setup menu in the receiver too.

    If that doesn't help, try a new cable...any old spare cable will do...even an old video (composite) cable.

    Tom V.
    SVS
     
  4. Allen Marshall

    Allen Marshall Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2003
    Messages:
    561
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yes i did tony. And to top it off it did it two more times cause it was knocking up against things while i was trying to get out behind the tv [​IMG]

    I tried a different cable, still noiseless.
     
  5. Ronneil Camara

    Ronneil Camara Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Verify that you connected the cable to the RCA port IN interface and not the OUT port on the subwoofer. I got confused before with this. [​IMG]

    And also, the bass out setting. In my Yamaha, I can change the setting to have the LFE sent to the mains or swfr and even both. Currently, my front speakers are set to small which is always a good idea. And BASS OUT setting is set to SWFR.
     
  6. Allen Marshall

    Allen Marshall Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2003
    Messages:
    561
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i tried them all just to be sure. I unplugged everything and let it sit there for awhile and then plug it back in, then i got really skeptical and starting plugging things in in different combinations of ways and different orders hoping that it might of been cause something was on or off but there at the wrong time which caused a disbalance in the universal way of things. But it was a no go.

    im startin to miss it, i've gone a while without having a shot of bass. I need a patch. So is it probably the fuse? and if so will SVS send me one orrr do i have to go out and get one or how does that work.
     
  7. Tom Vodhanel

    Tom Vodhanel Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 1998
    Messages:
    2,215
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi Allen,

    If the LED on the amp doesn't light, replace the fuse. Take it to the local Radio Shack and they will be able to match it up for you.

    If that doesn't help, email me at techsupport and we'll trouble shoot a little further...and get you up and running again asap!

    Tom V.
    SVS
     
  8. Allen Marshall

    Allen Marshall Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2003
    Messages:
    561
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    for some reason it works now. Why is that? i decided to watch a movie and turn it on just for the heck of it and an explosion went off and i felt the ground rumble alittle. So now it works but it's weaker for some reason. I've run into this before.

    When i got the sub, when i first hooked it up it didnt work, and i got really frustrated and coulnt get it to work before i went to bed. Next morning i woke up and put in the matrix, and turned the sub on and it was working. Now the first time i hooked this sub up in this room the bass was comming out weak. I dont remember what i did cause it was awhile ago but one day the bass started comming out super strong, and i had to go from half gain to 1/4 atleast. Seems like im having both of those problems but together, now i just gotta figure out what the problem is.

    Now that my sub is hooked up, the reciever turns off at loud parts on DD and DTS so at the moment i can only watch on Stereo. I had that reciever turning off problem before, and it was a huge problem so i eventually didnt even bother to fix it after trying so many times, then when i decided to watch a movie a week later, it apparently fixed itself. So im hopping the same thing will happen again [​IMG]
     
  9. Robb Roy

    Robb Roy Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2002
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Allen,

    It sounds like you are having some weird troubles with that receiver. Does it have plenty of ventilation?

    As to the sub sounding weak, I recently was trouble shooting a guy's system before I finally noticed he had PCM turned on in the DVD player. Make sure it's not on.

    -Robb
     

Share This Page