MY soon to be HT

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by Gerald LaFrance, Aug 1, 2005.

1. Gerald LaFrance

Gerald LaFrance Supporting Actor

Gerald LaFrance
    Hi ALL this is my first attempt at a web page I dont think it turned out half bad I still have to resize the Pics they are at 1024x 768 but NOT too big.

The room is 19'x 12' I plan on getting a 106" screen do you think that is TOO Big I believe the next size down is 92"?? would that be a better screen size for my HT?? I am planning on getting the Sanyo Z2 which they reccomend a 100" screen but I figure a few more inches will not wash out the pic that much, I am gettin the 106" HDTV screen size

here is the link:

http://home.comcast.net/~glafsr/wsb/...ome.html-.html

[​IMG]

2. Neil Joseph

Neil Joseph Lead Actor

Neil Joseph
    Website is easy to navigate and good on the eyes. A fairly decent first crack. The room is also coming along. From 12' and with a decent screen material, you wont see the pixel structure. Are you buying a screen or simply making one?

3. Gerald LaFrance

Gerald LaFrance
    Thnx Neil, I am still trying to decide if I should buy a screen or the DIY I saw on your website VERY NICE!! I would like to know would I be able to get a sheet of Formica 52"x92??

Any Pros or cons on your DIY screen ?? THNX!![​IMG]

4. Jim Mcc

Jim Mcc Producer

Jim
    Gerald, the room is definitely big enough for a 106" screen. But it depends on your seating distance. With the Z2 you can sit as close as 1.5X screen width(about 12' back). You can get a sheet of Formica(or another brand) big enough for that screen size. I checked into it a while back, but it was going to be too expensive to do. I painted a sheet of 1/2" Medium Density Fiberboard and it worked out great. Good luck.

5. Gerald LaFrance

Gerald LaFrance
  6. joseph westcott

joseph westcott Second Unit

You can get a screen size of just about any dimension.