What's new

My Sony STR-DA4ES is RUINED! (1 Viewer)

Aaron Cohen

Second Unit
I am new to the home theater market and spent months researching the reciever I found to be perfect for me: the Sony STR-DA4ES. Upon recieving it three months ago, I took it out of the box and messed around a bit with the controls and menu then put it back up as I am saving up to buy speakers to go along with it and was waiting till then to leave it hooked up to my set.

Fast forward 3 months. To be exact? Two days ago. I get home and find my cat had pissed on the top of the reciever box. The reciever was in the box with the flaps most of the way closed but there was a small hole in the center.

The piss apparently soaked down inside, through the vents on the top of the reciever and absolutely SOAKED all boards and circuits inside.

I opened it despite the horrific smell and inspected it and found the board to be corroded with crystalized piss all over it.

I spent forever price-matching this item and also made sure to pay a bit extra to get it from an authorized ES dealer to make sure that I got the warranty. They do not cover cat piss. I am out approximately 725 dollars.

What the heck happened? Has this ever happened to anyone else on the forum here? If so, is there any way to fix this or get it repaired or am I completely out of luck?

This is just an absolute NIGHTMARE. I cannot believe that this would happen.

As it stands, it looks like I will be out of getting a home theatre for quite some time now. It will be very annoying to repurchase such an expensive (for me, I'm a college student) reciever.

I worked last summer and got the KV-34XBR800 Sony flat tube widescreen HDTV and was to use this summer as a means of getting the speakers to go along with the reciever I bought during the school year.

This just plain sucks.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Andy Young

Stunt Coordinator