What's new

my SONY hdtv w/o DVI/HDMI, what am i missing?? (1 Viewer)

Nauman

Agent
i got my Sony WEGA 34" HDTV capable set 4 months back

it is capable of accepting 480i to 1080i scanning lines.but there are no DVI/HDMI connections at the back. does that mean i wont be able to get complete 1080 signal even though it is capable of displaying one ?.

im about to add a 5.1 audio setup with a denon 3805 reciever.

adding to that i was going to add a high end progressive dvd player with dvi/hdmi output (prob denon with denon link).

since im new to all this HT thing, im confused about the signal that i would get from my dvd player to the TV set through component video cables.

Mark:F

Stunt Coordinator
Most find that component does as good a job as DVI or HDMI. I have 3 HDTVs, 1 DVI, 1 HDMI, one component. I see no visible differences.

John S

Senior HTF Member
There are a few upcnverting players that will convert DVD to 1080i and output it on the component video. Most HDTV sources will output 1080i via the component connections as well.

The set is not what we call future proofed, but in todays world it really doesn't lack any functionality as far as HD goes.

Nauman

Agent
thanks for that info, i was hoping to hear exactly that :D

ill be careful in the choice of my cables now, and dont worry tat doesnt mean ill go for monstor. though here in Pakistan i dont have many choices. other brand available here is QED.

i compared the specs of 34"XBR960 and the 34"(asian model) i have, and there is significant difference. the one that i own is the top of the line available here. but i think its good enuff coz the HD channels are not likely to be broadcasted any time soon.

Duane Robinson

Second Unit