What's new

My PolkAudio PSW250?? (1 Viewer)

ChrisLazarko

Supporting Actor
Hey guys, I have a Polk Audio PSW250 subwoofer and I was thinking of building my own. Over in the DIY area of the forum I posted and I was curious here from people who may own Polk subs or perhaps did in the past what they thought of them. with my PSW250 it's awesome for music but with movies it is very rumbly and somewhat muddy. Does anyone else experience this with the Polk subs... If anyone wants to look in the DIY section and see what I proposed on building my first sub please do, thanks for any responces on the Polk sub though.

MichaelDDD

Supporting Actor
Real Name
Mike
I have no experience with your sub, but I've built quite a few of my own.

Each successive one you build is better than it's predecessors; you truly learn by doing in this arena. :)

It's more attention to detail than anything else.

Possibly, you've just outgrown your Polk. I'm sure it's a nice sub, but after awhile, you just want more. To make bass, you need to move air, period. That requires two things; power and cone area.

Assuming you buy the speaker, wood, port(s), glue, etc. You still need an amp. A good plate amp is about $250, IIRC...unless you happen to have a mono bridgeable amp laying around somewhere.

It might be worth it to save up and buy a really good sub. That's what I just did. Just roughly figuring out "how much thump" I wanted, including the amp...it came out marginally cheaper than buying one...NOT including the 100+ hours it would take me to build it right. Ergo, I bought one.

Building a GOOD HT/Music sub is not really a cheap proposition, ESPECIALLY if you don't already own the major tools. (tablesaw, drill, brad nailer, compressor, etc.)

You can get away with shooting screws into the wood, but unless you predrill pilot holes for every single screw, MDF will split. I know this from tons of personal experience.