My new Panasonic RP56 Progressive Scan Player

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Ron-P, Oct 15, 2001.

1. Ron-P

Ron-P Producer

Ron
    I just picked up this Progressive Scan Player to feed my Mits 46" 16:9 on Friday and finally got it out of the box last night.
    Got her all wired up and was able to run a few disks thru.
    First off, I am by no means a professional at the tech side of this stuff, I just like to watch movies. So, this small review will be in laymen terms.
    I went with this model because it has the latest Sage/Faroudja chipset which has been getting great reviews and it does not have a lot of bells and whistles. No DVD-A, no upscaling for non-anamorphic dvds, which are features I did not need. What it does not have is the chroma bug which plagues a lot of players, including the new Sony models. One other down-side is it does not have a coax-out, only optical, but for me that was not a major issue
    Other than that, at a Best Buy price of $216.49, this progressive player produces an image above and beyond what I was expecting. Far better than the set-ups I was using in the A/V shops I visited.
    The picture is nothing short of amazing. Right off, I noticed a much more fluid like motion to the image, very smooth and natural, everything seemed to just flow across the TV. The detail that became noticeable was amazing. Every detail on a face just jumped out, like I was standing in front of that person. In Gladiator, for example, the detail on Crowes shield, his face and his armor was outstanding. I also noticed a much more 3-D type picture, much more depth. The colors also improved, but minor in comparison to the above.