1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

my IE has me confused. can anyone explain this to me?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by TonyD, Apr 3, 2002.

  1. TonyD

    TonyD Who do we think I am?
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 1999
    Messages:
    17,813
    Likes Received:
    727
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Gulf Coast
    Real Name:
    Tony D.
    it doesnt always happen but sometimes when i open an ei ver. 6 browser it will take forever t load. until i open my aol program then ie browser will pop right on like it is supposed to.

    i have cable internet so it shouldnt need aol for anything.

    so do i have a setting somewere that is not reading the cable access?

    also when i get an error when trying to close a window my windows xp shows a window to send the error to microsoft but when it checks for the connection it just sits there until i cancel sending the error. so it seems that sometimes ie cant find my internet cable.

    help.
     
  2. MikeAlletto

    MikeAlletto Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2000
    Messages:
    2,369
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'd check your proxy settings...maybe it thinks there should be one when there shouldn't be.
     
  3. TonyD

    TonyD Who do we think I am?
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 1999
    Messages:
    17,813
    Likes Received:
    727
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Gulf Coast
    Real Name:
    Tony D.
    well maybe but i'm not savvy in this type of thing so thats why i hope someone can give me a for dummies version of what to check [​IMG]
     
  4. TonyD

    TonyD Who do we think I am?
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 1999
    Messages:
    17,813
    Likes Received:
    727
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Gulf Coast
    Real Name:
    Tony D.
    no thoughts on this?
     
  5. Chad Ellinger

    Chad Ellinger Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2000
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Under Tools / Internet Options in IE, click the setup button. A wizard will pop up asking you a bunch of questions. Make sure you say that you are connected to a LAN, and check "Automatic Proxy Detection" when it asks. That should fix your problem.
     

Share This Page