My Home Theater Setup... Opinions Please?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by ShaunT, Feb 2, 2002.

1. ShaunT

ShaunT Extra

Hey all, as you can see I'm a newbie here and I just got a system. In fact it's not even here yet. I got it all off of Ubid for a steal at least I think I did. Anyway, here is what I have:
    Receiver - Denon AVR-1602 ($235 on Ubid)
    Fronts - Wharfedale Modus 1.6 ($114 a piece on Ubid)
    Rears - Wharfedale Diamond Anniversary ($49 a piece on Ubid)
    The stuff above is what I have. What do you all think?
    For my center I want to get the Wharfedale Modus Music Center Channel, and for the Sub I want either the Wharfedale Topaz 10" or the DLS 10" that everyone is talking about on this board. What do you guys think about my options for my center chan and sub? I'm in college so my budget is pretty tight, but it's a good thing that I have a decent job to cover what I want to get.
    BTW, I also have a Sony 27" Wega and a Toshiba SD3750 DVD player if you guys were curious.
    Anyway, your opinions are very welcome as I want feedback on whether or not you guys think my setup will sound good!! Thanks!! [​IMG]

2. itai

itai Stunt Coordinator

shaun
    sounds good to me! denon and warfdale are great names so you'll probably enjoy it!
    good first time HT set man! tell us how it sounds when u get it.
    [​IMG]

3. George V

George V Extra

Sounds good...

I made modifications to the DLS 10" Sub if you decide to go that way. If you do get it...let me know and I'll tell you what I did to make it sound better.

4. ShaunT

ShaunT Extra

Hey George, yeah I think I'm going to go the DLS way because it is a lot cheaper. What modifications did you make to it to make it sound better? Thanks for you help.

5. PatrickM

PatrickM Screenwriter

Shaun,

Sounds like a good starter system. That's how I started three years ago and I've been upgrading bits and pieces as I went along.

Have fun with your new system.

Patrick

6. George V