What's new

My first sub is done :) Well almost :p (1 Viewer)

Dustin B

Senior HTF Member
Finished my first DIY sonosub and got it into the house and fired up just under 2 hours ago. Man was I nervous when I first plugged it in. But all went well and it sounds great. Puts my old Paradigm PDR10 to shame. Only thing left to do is sew the sock and get it pulled on the sub. Oh and watch "The Haunting" and a bunch of other DVDs as soon as I get the time.
As a side note, I'm a college student and back at my parents place for the summer (couldn't get a better job in the city I was going to school in). So the sub is in their basement which has a really bad shape and is almost double the size of the room it will be in when I get back to school. It's pretty impressive in this room, so I'm curious to see if it becomes scary in the smaller room
It's a 260L Tempest tuned to 17hz with a 6" ID PVC pipe. Powered by a AVA250 that is attached to the side of the tube (mount turned out better than I expected, hopefully I'll have pictures soon). Used 18" sonotube (it's actually 18 3/4" ID and the outer diameter is 19") that with 6 1/4" legs stands 5'11" tall (I have a whole 1/2" on it
tongue.gif
. I have a foot of insulation at the top around the port (to prevent resonances in the 90-110hz range) and the rest is lined with a little over an 1" of polyfill. The driver is mounted dead center on the bottom and the port is mounted dead center on the top. The endcaps are 1.5" MDF with 1" inside the tube and 1/2" outside. The endcaps are also tied together with threaded rod which passes through the bottom endcap and attaches to the legs. Painted the endcaps a flat black and the fabric for the sock has a bunch of little textured squares.
I've taken a couple pictures of the construction (literally) that I will post as soon as I can (gonna be at least a week or two). Gotta wait until I get the sock sewed so I can get the finished pictures as well.