My first receiver

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Pedro Diaz, Oct 8, 2002.

1. Pedro Diaz

Pedro Diaz Agent

Ok... Im a newbie and Im about to buy my first receiver. Then I will have to save money to buy the speakers to match that amplifier.

Right now Im between a Harman Kardon AVR320 or the ONKYO TX-SR600 receiver.

Which one would be the best option?

Money is no problem between those receivers.

Thank you very much for your replies.

2. DanaA

DanaA Screenwriter

Well, if I had to choose between the two, I'd go with the Harman Kardon. It all depends, to a great extent, what you're going to use the receivers for most of the time(music/home theater) and which speakers you eventually mate the receiver which. The HK is, in my opinion, a warmer, more musical receiver. Both are pretty good choices though, although I'd consider others such as those offered by companies such as Outlaw, Marantz, and Denon.

3. John Garcia

John Garcia Executive Producer

John
    H/K.

4. Paul_Fisher

Paul_Fisher Screenwriter

I third the H/K.

5. Pablo Abularach

Pablo Abularach Supporting Actor

I also agree on H/K,

But I think you should check also Marantz with the new line coming up next month, the X200 series are going to be very cheap. Maybe a SR6200.

6. Lee Petty

Lee Petty Stunt Coordinator

i was between those 2 as well, and i went for the h/k.
    $400 at Harman Audio

7. Pedro Diaz

Pedro Diaz Agent

Today I made a search and I have found my MARANTZ distributor. Its located 10 miles from my office [​IMG]
    Im going to call them for a quote.
    In the meantime, which MARANTZ receiver will be comparable to the HK AVR320 and the ONKYO SR600?
    How do you compare MARANTZ to HK or ONKYO?
    Thank you again.

8. Pablo Abularach

Pedro,

I think Marantz and Harman Kardon are in league of their own, not that the other brands are a bad choice, all brands make very good receivers,