my first MTM setup

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by Matt Dolejsi, May 14, 2003.

1. Matt Dolejsi

Matt Dolejsi Agent

I'm looking to build my first MTM setup and I was wondering what the typical impendence setup was to get the final speaker to round out to about 8 ohms, My denon AVR1700 will do fine with 6 ohms it says so thats a possibility (does anyone know if it will have a problem with 4 ohms). Anyway, my tweeters have been purchased and they are 8 ohms, what impendece should i look for in my mid drivers. Any input will be appreciated. I'm looking to build sealed, not vented cabinets.

i guess that'll do for my first post

2. Matt Dolejsi

Matt Dolejsi Agent

seriously, its not that i haven't looked around, and no i'm not a total newbie, i've build alot of HT and car Stuff, but never an MTM. I've been looking around particularly the most on partsexpress and the MTM systems there are mostly 4 ohm nominal, If someone could confirm that a Good denon can handle that, i'll be glad to use that as a framework

3. Aaron_Morris

Aaron_Morris Stunt Coordinator

I am curious about this as well. Sorry I have no real help for you.

I'd like to know if matching the sensitivities is also advisable.

4. Darren_T

Darren_T Second Unit

I can confirm that a good receiver can handle a 4ohm load. I was powering five 4ohm AV1+ MTM speakers with my Onkyo receiver and it had no problem, it did get a bit warm at higher volumes but with 5 speakers I expected that and placed a small computer fan on top of the case to suck the hot air out. I did that for about 3 months of daily use without any problems before I bought separates. I'd think a good Denon receiver would have no problems.

5. Mark_E_Smith

Mark_E_Smith Second Unit

You have 2 choices, 2 4 ohm speakers in series or 2 16 ohm speakers in parallel. The reason most MTMs are 4 ohm is they use 8 ohm speakers in parallel. I hope your tweeter has a low Fs so that you can cross it at about 2K to 2.5K.

6. Matt Dolejsi