My first digital camera! Nikon D70

Discussion in 'Photography' started by Ryan Tsang, May 31, 2004.

1. Ryan Tsang

Ryan Tsang Second Unit

I feel like someone who just discovered the power of DVD!
    I never knew a digicam could be this much fun! I have been shooting Nikon 35mm for several years and was waiting for the right moment to add digital to my repertoire. It's tough to argue that the Canon EOS-300D and the Nikon D70 are going to open the floodgates for digital SLRs.

Question for all digital users, esp Nikon:

What imaging software are you using? I don't plan to get Photoshop CS because of sheer complexity and cost. I'd like a program to handle Nikon's NEF format well and give me an enthusiast/serious amateur level of control and image processing.

What are some differences between the makes of CompactFlash cards? Other than speed, is there another reason to pay the premium for names such as Lexar and Sandisk?

2. Don Black

Don Black Screenwriter

Checkout the forums at dpreview.com. More of a photography focus. Most of your questions have been convered in the past. Just search their archives. Congrats on the purchase! It's a great camera for sure.

3. Tom Meyer

Tom Meyer Second Unit

If you're not going w/ Photoshop, you can purchase Nikon Capture for $100 after trying it out for 30 days.

Fast CF cards are important w/ the D70 because they're needed to keep up w/ its large cache and fast buffering. I have 2 512 SanDisk Ultra II cards and am very happy. I shoot all NEF and can still get very good burst throughput. With JPEG, it's pretty much continuous. I got mine for ~$80 each at Amazon during a sale w/ rebate so check around. They are kinda of sparse right now but you could find them I'm sure. The SanDisk Extreme is also a good choice.

Check out http://www.robgalbraith.com/bins/mul...e.asp?cid=6007 for tons of great info.

Have fun ! (though now you'll be jonesing for lenses ! )

4. Max Leung

Max Leung Producer