1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

My CD burner keeps throwing up!

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Patrick Sun, Dec 24, 2001.

  1. Patrick Sun

    Patrick Sun Studio Mogul

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1999
    Messages:
    38,788
    Likes Received:
    498
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Well, I stuck my functioning Liteon 24x10x40x CDRW burner drive into a PC with an Abit BH6 (with the SS Bios update, latest one I could find), and no matter if it's primary slave or secondary master, it keep spitting out the CD tray. I put a CD in the tray, and hit the button to close the tray, the tray goes in, a second later, the drive spits out the tray. It does it repeatedly. Any ideas? Maybe the new burner drives don't like my old old motherboard?

    This occurs before the operating system gets loaded up. And the operating system (W2K) does recognize the drive correctly being connected to the motherboard/system.

    The drive works fine in my other PC, which has an Asus CUSL2-C motherboard.
     
  2. Patrick Sun

    Patrick Sun Studio Mogul

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1999
    Messages:
    38,788
    Likes Received:
    498
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    40+ views and no one has any clue to the vomiting of my CD-RW burner? [​IMG]
     
  3. DennisZ

    DennisZ Agent

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Patrick, I don't think that old motherboard supports CD_RWs.
    The Asus will, probably the best motherboards. Even tho W2K sees it doesn't mean the motherboard likes it.
    Hope this helps
    Denny[​IMG]
     
  4. Carl Johnson

    Carl Johnson Cinematographer

    Joined:
    May 6, 1999
    Messages:
    2,259
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    1,610
    Real Name:
    Carl III
    Mabye you should pour some Robitussin on it [​IMG]
     
  5. Rob Gillespie

    Rob Gillespie Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 1998
    Messages:
    3,632
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Bad cabling maybe? Just a thought.
     
  6. DavePompea

    DavePompea Auditioning

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    DennisZ: I have the exact same MB / PIII 750 and it works just fine with my CD, CD-RW, DVD, ... running W2K , NT4, ... It's a great MB.

    As for the problem, I can only guess about a few things.

    1. Check the BIOS setup screen where it lists the 4 IDE devices. Make sure they are all set to Auto.

    2. Check the BIOS boot up sequence. See that the CD is not listed before the hard drive.

    3. Is you BH6 a v1.0x or v1.1 ? Check the sticker on the side of the ISA slot connector. You may have to use a dentist mirror to see it. V1.0x MB's take the SS bios, v1.1's take a different one.

    4. Try swaping the IDE cable ends between the connectors on the MB only. After that, change the boot up drive letter from C: to D: in the bios in order to boot from the original C: drive. Does it do the same thing ?

    Dave
     
  7. DennisZ

    DennisZ Agent

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Patrick, when I said the MB may not support it, what I meant to say was what Dave P. stated. There are times where I think but it doesn't come out in the typing.It was late.

    Check the BIOS as Dave said. this would be a good place to start.

    Sorry for the confusion

    thanks Dave for pointing that out

    Denny
     
  8. Patrick Sun

    Patrick Sun Studio Mogul

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1999
    Messages:
    38,788
    Likes Received:
    498
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Well, it looks like a change in longitude helped because I popped in the offending Liteon CD burner into the PC with the Abit MB, and it acted normally, no vomiting. I am so relieved! I was able to set up the software installation so my dad can burn CD now. Thanks for all the pointers. I still don't know why things didn't work in Atlanta, but do in Mobile. [​IMG]
     

Share This Page