1. John S

    John S Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,460
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did it ever lose power while in 16:9 mode? I have seen at least one display do this same thing. (A Philips)

    If this is the case usually if you unplug it in 4:3 mode, then they return to "normal".
     
  2. Aaron_Mum

    Aaron_Mum Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    What John said, unplugging it should reset it. If not you can reset it in the service menu.

    Here is some info on tweaking WEGA's in the service menu. If you have not gone into the service menu yet you should give it a try especially to fix the picture oversqueeze in 16x9 mode. My 32" oversqueezed the picture by about five inches! The other service menu tweak you should do is to turn off the red push, that will really help out your picture quailty. Be careful playing with the service menu though it is a bit confusing and info on web sites is sometimes a little different for different years of TVs.
     
  3. John S

    John S Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,460
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you at least try to unplug it while your running 4:3 content on it?

    It just may do it.
     
  4. Aaron_Mum

    Aaron_Mum Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0


    You can get the TV to start in 16x9 everytime if you open up the service menu change the TV to 16x9 and then turn it off. So I would assume if you open up the service menu and make sure it is set to 4:3 and then turn it off it would start in 4:3 every time.

    Did unplugging it not reset it?
     
  5. MikeEckman

    MikeEckman Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2001
    Messages:
    1,085
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ive had this problem on my old WEGA as well. I actually liked it that way since 90% of the time I was using my TV to watch anamorphic DVDs, but for TV, it would get annoying.

    Do NOT use the VZOM feature! That screws up the scanlines and concentrates the top quarter of the scanlines all on the same row, and can almost instantly burn in your screen if you leave it there for more than a few seconds.

    As for the trick of leaving your set in 4x3 mode when exiting the service menu, simply exiting the mode won't do it, you need to be in 4x3, then hit MUTE, then ENTER to write the changes, then turn off and turn back on the set and it should be back to normal.
     
  6. MikeEckman

    MikeEckman Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2001
    Messages:
    1,085
    Likes Received:
    0

    That site that Aaron is linking to looks to be for an older model as the newer units do not have settings for AXPL and AXNT.

    Furthermore, the settings for my new WEGA and my old WEGA are quite different to achieve an optimal picture, so that just proves that not all WEGAs are the same.

    I do not recommend calibrating your TV based on the exact same values other people used. Those same settings might help, but the exact values are not universal to all models and all sets.
     

Share This Page