'Mute' button???

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Paul Fa, Jan 7, 2004.

  1. Paul Fa

    Paul Fa Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2001
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, ok, I'm know I'm probably gonna get a ton of flaming over this from the audiophiles, but here goes:

    I was listening to the radio on my old stereo system this morning and when an especially obnoxious commercial came on and I was wishing my remote had a mute button instead of waiting for the volume to decrease. Having not checked out newer remotes for AV Pre-pros or Receivers - I was wondering if they have them or not? If not, is it because the sudden cut-out would cause problems with internal circuitry or speakers? I would imagine that there must be some ability to do this when viewing TV through the AVR, but what about regular old audio??

    As the Torch used to say . . . "Flame On!"
     
  2. gene c

    gene c Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Messages:
    5,850
    Likes Received:
    51
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Bay area, Ca
    Real Name:
    Gene
    Yes Paul, most new receivers have a mute button on the remote. A very useful feature that I use often. Time for a new one maybe? Gene
     
  3. DaveBeblo

    DaveBeblo Auditioning

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When I was receiver shopping I didn't notice which remotes had one and which didn't (really wasn't looking) but my new H/K 230 does indeed have a mute button.
     
  4. Sacha_C

    Sacha_C Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2003
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My old minisystem used to fade mute in and out (you would see the volume numbers roll up and down as you unmute/mute), my new sony receiver just mutes on and off normally in 1 step.
     
  5. Peka J

    Peka J Agent

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Every receiver I've seen has a mute button - I think it is very rare not to have one. You shouldn't have any problem getting a mute button when you get a new receiver.
     
  6. Paul Fa

    Paul Fa Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2001
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks guys. I kinda figured so, but have spent all my research on the boxes themselves, not their remotes. Admin can delete this one!
     

Share This Page