What's new

Msnbc.com does article on SACD and DVD-Audio! (1 Viewer)

KeithH

Senior HTF Member
Check out this article on SACD and DVD-Audio on msnbc.com:
http://www.msnbc.com/news/810537.asp?pne=msn
In the article, the writer comments on the Sony SCD-C555ES and DVP-NS755V! Here is what he wrote:
The first SACD tester machine that entered my home is the one I eventually purchased. The Sony SCD-C555ES is a huge black box with a 5-disc carousel and enough bells and whistles to choke a horse. I never thought I’d use all the features included inside, but recently I’ve been proven wrong. More about that in a minute.
The 555ES, with a suggested retail price of $800 is in the middle of Sony’s SACD/CD player line. You didn’t expect Sony to send me one of their $3,000 or $5,000 models did you? Doesn’t matter. The 555ES is hot stuff! I’ve been using it as my primary playback device for the past 3 months and I can happily report that CDs sound a lot better than on my old highly-modified CD deck — and when the material permits, it’s capable of breath-taking music reproduction of SACDs. (See Rolling Stone discs above). Also as reported above, I’m not a big fan of 5.1-channel music reproduction so all those features built-in to the 555ES don’t really interest me.
The latest SACD player I’ve been listening to is Sony’s DVD-NS755V. As you might guess from its model number, this is a progressive scan DVD player that also plays back SACDs, CDs and DVD-As in the somewhat lower-fi Dolby Digital format.