MSN Messenger

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Steven Simon, Jan 18, 2005.

  1. Steven Simon

    Steven Simon Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 1998
    Messages:
    3,276
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Real Name:
    Steven Simon
    Hey Guys,

    Wondering if any of you can help me out. My girlfriend works at a doctors office, and they use MSN Messenger to communicate between her office and the other doctors office. One week ago, something strange started happening. They are using some sort of DSL network, and there net connection works fine, but when they log into MSN Messenger, it constantly gets dropped and re-signed in. So they go online, then appear offline, and then it signs them back in... She re-installed messenger, and that did nothing, as well as the others in the office. They tried resetting the network, nada... WHat could this be??

    Any help greatly appreciated.....
     
  2. Tom Fudold

    Tom Fudold Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 1998
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    MSN uses multiple TCP and UDP ports, from 569, 1863 and 6901. They may have more. They make it very hard to block, so it uses many ways to get out. You can do a search on MSN Messenger Ports and you'll see what I mean. It could be possible that the DSL router you have has some port blocking, or a firewall built in to it. That could cause some problems for MSN.

    Tom
     
  3. Dan Mercier

    Dan Mercier Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 1999
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Also check out Port Forward for detailed information
    on setting up the firewall/xp or router based for forwarding
    ports for various applications.

    Dan
     
  4. Alf S

    Alf S Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2000
    Messages:
    2,981
    Likes Received:
    509
    Trophy Points:
    4,110
    Real Name:
    Alfer
    I installed both the 6.2 version and their newest beta version on my machine and my parents so we could use our webcams to chat...

    It all installed fine and all the audio/video wizards were done and everything checked out fine (cam and microphone).

    However, no matter what, neither one of use can talk..absolutely no voice communication works. The webcams looks great but that's all that works.

    They just have SBC DSL with a 2 year old non firewall modem running on a newer XP Home machine.

    I have a Linksys wireless router and access point running on my XP Home PC...

    I've searched the web and find lots of folks in the same boat, but can't get a firm grip on how to fix this audio glitch.

    I want to note that ONE time for like 3 seconds I heard my mom when we tried to talk via the microphones.

    Also Yahoo Messenger works fine but the video portion is crappier than MSN.

    If anyone has any solutions, I'd appreciate hearing about them.

    Alfer
     
  5. Tom Fudold

    Tom Fudold Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 1998
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't know if this helps, but back when we did a lot of Socom online, on the PS2, a lot of people had no voice communication. Turns out they switched routers, from Linksys to Dlink, or Netgear to Linksys... we never found out why, or what ones worked best, but they all got it working again after making some changes in the hardware router.

    T.
     

Share This Page